Artistic genes!

My gran was a keen artist and gardener. During the Easter holidays we’d make the three-hour journey to her house, where there was always a vase of freshly cut flowers waiting on the table along with sketch pads, paints and crayons (and, of course, the obligatory chocolate Easter eggs!). My sister and I would spend ages painting and drawing the flowers, and my gran would encourage us to examine them carefully and think about the different colours, shapes and textures.

Today I treated myself to some flowers and put them in a vase on the kitchen table. My daughter fetched her crayons and some paper, and we talked about the colours running through the stems, the shapes of the leaves and the different petals. She’s seen flowers a million times before (and rarely sits still!), but she was totally captivated and had a lovely time sketching, colouring and shading. In fact, I’m quite sure she’ll never look at flowers in the same way again! I also know my gran would have been incredibly proud of the lovely picture she produced (photos below). Not bad for someone who hasn’t yet turned six – don’t you think?! Perhaps she’s inherited her great gran’s artistic genes…or perhaps, like most mums, I’m just biased! Either way, a lovely way to spend an afternoon.

All images & content © Every Little Cloud. Click here to view full copyright notice & terms of use.

Leave a comment